Learning About Bid Writing….

So, another thing I’ve been doing recently is working with Dr Cristina Cerulli to develop a sustainable funding strategy for SKINN’s Furnace Park project in the Shalesmoor / Neepsend area of Sheffield. Currently this involves preparing an application for the University of Sheffield’s Collaborative R+D and Partnership Award….

See here for more about SKINN.

See here for SKINN’s project description for the Furnace Park project.

Here are some things I’ve learned;

1) Use ‘active’ language – see here. Strengthens your writing by making intentions clearer and cutting down word count. For example;

PASSIVE:  The design document has been completed by the team.
ACTIVE:  The team has completed the design document.

2)    Academics can be strange beasts. I thought I’d learned about mouthing off from my posts whilst in Israel….but academics al seem to act like they’re protecting some kind of intellectual capital, when they could really benefit from knowing what each other is up to! This may be a naive view in today’s academic world where professors / researchers / lecturers are appraised on an individual basis and need to ‘stand out’…but it frustrates me to a point where I don’t care. The School is stronger as a School that as a roof over a number of individual academics. For the moment, I’m going to continue operating from my temporary office in the foyer of the Arts Tower, as it means I talk to people. This mean I find things out that are of benefit to my project, and that I can share the things I have found out with others, who can make use of it in their projects.

 

To Be Continued…

Leave a comment

Filed under PhD Scrapbook, Real World

Leave a Reply

